Localisation 2020

August 23-28, 2020, Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan

Anderson localisation and related topics

link to the original website

Important dates:

  • deadline for abstract submission : May 29th(Fri), 2020
  • notice of acceptance : June 26th(Fri), 2020
  • deadline for registration : July 31st(Fri), 2020
  • deadline for payment : July 31st(Fri), 2020


"Localisation” is a series of conferences which dates back to 1984 when “Localization, Interaction, and Transport Phenomena” was held in PTB Braunschweig, Germany. It is often organized as a satellite conference of LT. The last one was in 2011 at Postech in Korea as a satellite of LT26. Recent interest in disordered topological insulators and semimetals, many-body localization, as well as disordered non-Hermitian systems have motivated us to restart this conference, this time as a satellite of LT29. The aim of the conference is to bring together researchers in related fields and provide a forum to discuss open problems. The topics covered in this conference includes

  • Anderson localization and transition in disordered systems (electronic, photonic, phononic, random graphs and others)
  • Effects of disorder in topological insulators, semimetals, and graphene
  • Quantum Hall transitions
  • Many-body localization
  • Localization and topology in disordered non-Hermitian systems
  • Machine learning approach to disordered quantum systems
  • Localization phenomena in artificial quantum systems such as cold atoms and spin ices

Date & Place:

August 23rd(Sun) - 28th(Fri), 2020

Hokkaido University, Sapporo, Japan

Akira Suzuki Hall (2nd floor) in

Frontier Research in Applied Sciences Building

School of Engineering, Hokkaido University

Kita 15, Nishi 8, Kita-Ku, Sapporo,

Hokkaido 060-8628, Japan



Invited Speakers (Confirmed):

  • Fabien Alet (CNRS, France)
  • Kamran Behnia (CNRS, France)
  • Ravindra Bhatt (Princeton University, USA)
  • Igor Burmistrov (Landau Institute, Russia)
  • Dominique Delande (Laboratoire Kastler-Brossel - CNRS/SU/ENS, France)
  • Vladimir Dobrosavljevic (National High Magnet Field Laboratory, USA)
  • Ferdinand Evers (University of Regensburg, Germany)
  • Joshua Feinberg (University of Haifa, Israel)
  • Matthew S. Foster (Rice University, USA)
  • Akira Furusaki (RIKEN, Japan)
  • Victor Galitski (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Jean-Claude Garreau (CNRS / Université de Lille, France)
  • Igor Gornyi (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
  • Ilya Gruzberg (Ohio State University, USA)
  • Naomichi Hatano (University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Yasuhiro Hatsugai (University of Tsukuba, Japan)
  • Victor Kagalovsky (Shamoon College of Engineering, Israel)
  • Hosho Katsura (University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Norio Kawakami (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • Tohru Kawarabayashi (Toho University, Japan)
  • Sergey Kravchenko (Northeastern University, USA)
  • Gabriel Lemarié (LPT, CNRS, Université Paul Sabatier, France)
  • Denis Maryenko (RIKEN, Japan)
  • Svitlana Mayboroda (University of Minnesota, USA)
  • Alexander Mirlin (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
  • Zvi Ovadyahu (The Hebrew University, Israel)
  • Jed Pixely (Rotgers University, USA)
  • Rudolf A. Roemer (University of Warwick, UK)
  • Antonio Rubio-Abadal (Max-Planck-Institute of Quantum Optics, Germany)
  • Masatoshi Sato (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • Robert Schittko (Harvard University, USA)
  • Dan Shahar (The Weizmann Institute, Israel)
  • Ryuichi Shindou (Peking University, China)
  • Serguei E. Skipetrov (CNRS, France)
  • Christoph Strunk (Regensburg University, Germany)
  • Sergey Syzranov (University of California Santa Cruz, USA)
  • Konstantin Tikhonov (Landau Institute, Russia)
  • Masahito Ueda (University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Thomas Vojta (Missouri University of Science and Technology, USA)
  • Xin Wan (Zhejiang University, China)
  • Jakub Zakrzewski (Jagiellonian University in Krakow, Poland)
  • Martin Zirnbauer (University of Cologne, Germany)


Registration form

Registration is not yet open.

Registration fee and a method of payment


Submission of abstract


Venue & General Information:

  • Access

From Sapporo city centre (Odori & Susukino area) :

The Nanboku subway line is convenient. Get off at Kita 12-jo station. Exit the station and enter Hokkaido University through the Kita 13-jo gate. It is then about 10 minutes walk to the Frontier Research in Applied Sciences building.

From Sapporo Station on foot:

It will take approximately 20 minutes.

From New Chitose airport (the main airport in Hokkaido) to Sapporo:

See access information from Hokkaido University and LT29.

  • Accommodation

There are several hotels near Hokkaido University and many hotels in Sapporo city centre. Since many tourists visit Sapporo during the summer months, we highly recommend that you book a hotel at your earliest convenience.

  • General information

For practical information about visiting Japan, see the "General Information" page on the LT29 website.


Co-Chairs :

  • Stefan Kettemann (Jacobs University, Germany)
  • Tomi Ohtsuki (Sophia University, Japan)
  • Keith Slevin (Osaka University, Japan)

Local organizing committee :

  • Hideaki Obuse (Hokkaido University, Japan)
  • Kousuke Yakubo (Hokkaido University, Japan)

International Advisory Board:

  • Fabien Alet
  • Tsuneya Ando
  • Carlo Beenakker
  • John T. Chalker
  • Yan Fyodorov
  • Jean-Claude Garreau
  • Bernhard Kramer
  • Sergey Kravchenko
  • Angus MacKinnon
  • John Page

Previous Localisation Conferences

  1. Braunschweig, Germany (1984)
  2. Tokyo, Japan (1987)
  3. London, UK (1990)
  4. Eugene, US (1993)
  5. Jasowiecz, Poland (1996)
  6. Hamburg, Germany (1999)
  7. Tokyo, Japan (2002)
  8. Pohang, Korea (2011)


Localisation 2020 is supported by Inoue Foundation for Science, JSPS KAKENHI 19H00658, 18H01140, and Hokkaido University.


Organizers of Localisation 2020


Phone : +81-11-706-6620


Hideaki Obuse

A2-28 Division of Applied Physics, Graduate School of Engineering,

Hokkaido University, Sapporo 060-8628, Japan